What a Thought

I’ve been struggling a little, lately. The idea of my first series being fully published with nothing immediately on hand to roll out is troubling, to say the least. I’ve started a YA project and abandoned it in a slow burn of Not Being Able to Find my Voice, and along the way at some point I fell into a new fandom and one of my first fics for that fandom gained notoriety and visibility of the ol’ double-edged sword variety. While I think 1994 is good, it certainly wasn’t something I started as an earnest writing project. It certainly became that, but it’s still not The Next One, even considering its… if you’ll pardon me… titanic size. Fuck me that was the lamest joke I’ve ever made I’ll see myself to the trash.

A few weeks ago the idea for a new project took hold, and I think this might indeed be The Next One. As of now the project — a slightly but not overly ambitious fantasy story that involves dragons, creation myths, folklore, intrigue, mystery, and of course, lots of gay sex — has no official title. The almost regrettable working title is “Fucking Dragons”, which is not only my reaction to most of what my terrible protags get up to, but also a fairly accurate description of the plot. I’m on fire with these jokes, man. I’ve got a million of ’em and none of ’em come up when I’m actually trying to be funny. 

I’m calling it Tiopa for short, until I’ve got enough of a foothold to give it an actual title, and I’ve managed to finish two chapters and a detailed outline. 

I already have fanart, if you can believe that. Here, look:

Image

I’d say things are going well.

Now, where was I? That one got away from me. Oh, yes! For the beta stages of Tiopa, Fucking Dragons, Sex Lanterns, or whatever other thing I’ve called this, I’ve been posting chapters via Tumblr by way of Dreamwidth, which, while a lovely little site, is largely useless for me except to protect my intellectual property. 

Like an average 90’s infomercial star I knew there has to be a better way, and then I remembered WordPress.

Oh yeah. This thing. Where I found my first taste of blogging fulfillment lo so many years ago.

So, what I’m saying is: follow for more awful jokes and/or puns and/or gay fantasy erotica in the making. Probably other things? I don’t know, I’m no fortune teller.

Leave a Reply

